Halloween Party Idea: The tree part one.

This project makes a great addition to your Halloween Party decorations because it is virtually free, and if you don’t have the supplies on hand, you can get them pretty cheap.

Supply List:

  1. Large branch that has several mini branches that would look like a Charlie Brown Tree. (Free, just find one)

  2. Black Paint ( I used spray paint) ($3 at the most)

  3. A surface to paint on (I used some black plastic) Free, whatever you have.

  4. Gloppy Craft Glue (comes with the glitter but you could use Elmer’s  we’ll say $1 Dollar Tree)

  5. Glitter in your choice of color(s)  ( I used red) ($1-$7 depending on where and how much.  I recommend Martha Stewart Glitter at Michael’s Craft Store and if you buy the three pack, it comes with the glue.  And you can go to the Michael’s site and print a 40% off coupon.

  6. Anything you want to hang from the tree. (I’ll get to that in the next post)

  7. Plaster of Paris (You can get a big ol’ thing of this for about $5 at Walmart in the kids craft department.)

  8. A container to put your tree in, something junky because we’re holding it up with plaster of paris.  This will be at the base of your tree.  I am going to put mine in a milk jug, and then sink the jug into an old planter I have.

This whole project might run you around $15 assuming you have none of the supplies.  My mom called me from a local hardware chain where they were selling these for $70.  So, I’d say $15 ain’t bad.

Here’s how it’s gone down so far.

 

This is my bare Halloween tree.  Look for something similar with little branches on it.
This is my bare Halloween tree. Look for something similar with little branches on it.

 

Spray paint it black in a ventilated area, Put something down to protect the surface.  Allow to dry.

Spray paint it black in a ventilated area, Put something down to protect the surface. Allow to dry.

Gather glitter supplies.  I keep my glitter in a coffee filter so I can scoop it w a spoon & let the excess fall in the filter.  Or use a bog ol piece of paper for larger areas you plan to glitter.

Gather glitter supplies. I keep my glitter in a coffee filter so I can scoop it w a spoon & let the excess fall in the filter. Or use a bog ol piece of paper for larger areas you plan to glitter.

Brush a branch with glue.  I just do the tips. You'll want to work from the inside of your Halloween Tree out.

Brush a branch with glue. I just do the tips. You'll want to work from the inside of your Halloween Tree out.

Spoon the glitter onto the glued branch.  Make sure to catch the excess in a coffee filter or on a piece of paper.

Spoon the glitter onto the glued branch. Make sure to catch the excess in a coffee filter or on a piece of paper.

several branches glittered.  This is definitely the situation where more is better.

several branches glittered. This is definitely the situation where more is better.

In the next post, we’ll sit this bad boy up, and add some decorations. 
It’s going to make an awesome focal point.
You can actually use this idea in a lot of different applications.
I’ve done one for christmas, in all white and hung Christmas Ornaments that had our friernds
names written on them in gold marker.

 

 

Leave a Reply

