• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • Let’s Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Me

    Rockin' Party Ideas on a Realistic Budget!

Entertaining Overwhelm

I happen to be in the middle of a few parties of my own.  And in the midst of it all, things can get a bit overwhelming.  Tomorrow I have a couple different parties to attend, both require me to bring something.  My own son is turning 9 in 14 days and I have his party to throw.  Oh, and yes, then there’s Halloween.  What?  Halloween?  It’s only August!  Don’t freak me out about that already? (more on that later).  But I am not overwhelmed by it because I’ve given myself some room to think and breathe.   That answer didn’t come from some guru or the latest and greatest party gear.  If you really want to know how to not be overwhelmed by it all, read on.

Overwhelm really doesn’t come from a to do list.  It doesn’t come from someone else (hey, bear with me, we’ll get to him later- Oh, did I say him?).  I can tell you this with complete confidence.  Overwhelm comes from, don’t shout me down ’cause I’m preaching good, overwhelm comes from clutter.  Oh keep reading, you know you need to read this.  It will help, trust me.  I’m the Cheap Party Chick, would I lie to ya?

This week my mom and I held a garage sale.  I totally have mixed feelings about this.  It’s always better to just donate the stuff.  But then, when you need some cash, and you can do your part you should.  See the brain boucing?  Anyway, we had a darn garage sale.  We made $325 which helped pay this bills for sure.  But as we sat back and looked at all the stuff, stared it deeeply in the face, the feeling of shame crept in on me.  I came to a few conlusions.

  • When we’re overwhelmed with our bills, most were created by what is now clutter.
  • When we’re overwhelmed with our weight, it’s because we’re stuffing our mouths to soothe that desire for more, more, more.  When is enough, enough?  Do we even know?
  • When we’re overwhelmed with the chaotic state of our lives, is it because we’re dancing around our own future mini landfill?

I could go on and on, but I don’t want to overwhelm you.  As I spent nearly thirteen hours decluttering down to the nubs, I thought how much money, how much time, how much mental energy,  how much chaos was I holding onto and for what?  

Getting rid of the junk that is blocking your abilities, your relationships, your creativity, is such a relief.  Isn’t celebrating life more important than a fiber-optic snowman or  those shoes you wore once?  If you want to spend more time celebrating life, living it, then start now and take some small steps toward dejunking your world and living more fully.  This is truly where parties become easy and even enjoyable.  Because now you have the time, the mental energy, and the creativity to throw one without blowing your budget or a gasket.

Here are some of my very favorite resources (clutter free) for help.

  1. Flylady

An excerpt from her site:

Are YOU living in CHAOS?
(Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome)

Do you feel overwhelmed, overextended, and overdrawn?
Hopeless and you don’t know where to start?
Don’t worry friend, we’ve been there, too. ”

 2. Peter Walsh from Clean House

This is an excerpt from his book, Does this Clutter Make My Butt Look Fat?  ( Book is clutter free because there are still libraries out there in which the clutter gets returned!)

From page 2, “As a nation we are reveling in an orgy of consumption and it shows no sign of letting up. We can’t get enough of anything. The American mantra has become ‘more is better’ and we are applying that motto with gusto to almost every aspect of our lives. If consuming is good, then consuming more is better.”

 and last but not least…

3. Dan Ho from FitTV 

 Watch this clip (the link above) and rock your party with stuff you already have.  Go figure.

One Response

  1. Hi! I saw your comment on my blog and wanted to stop over and check yours out. Girl, you spoke to my heart. I soooo need to declutter, but I come by it honestly. My mom keeps everything, stacks and stacks of everything, and I have inherited some of that tendency. So you inspired me! Thanks a lot, and I’ll definitely add you to my favorites.

Leave a Reply

