My Favorite Entertaining Cookbooks & Why

If you’re like me, recipes and cookbooks are so fun to read, but often leave me with this feeling, “Yeah that’s nice, but I’m never going to make it, and I’m not spending the money on ingredients just to have it turn out badly and nobody eat it.”  When I am considering a party menu, I want my guest leaving with happy bellies.  Going to parties where the food is a half hearted effort does not accomplish this at all.  Well, I have found one very reliable source for cookbooks from one of the most charming companies on earth. 

Must Have Party Food Recipe Book

Must Have Party Food Recipe Book

 No, I am not getting paid to say this.  I am speaking from experience.  There has never, not one time, been a party food recipe I’ve tried from these gals that has not delivered.  Gooseberry Patch offers realistic dishes that anyone can prepare, with ingredients that are found everywhere.  The most important thing is they all sooo good. 

My kids are finicky, and I mean finicky, and they have enjoyed (yeah, I said enjoyed) everything I’ve ever made from a Gooseberry Patch Cookbook.  The other great thing about Gooseberry Patch cookbooks are the entertaining tips.  Each recipe features a little simple and inexpensive tip for sprucing up your next party. 

Some of my favorite party recipes from Gooseberry are Overnight Asian Salad (who knew salad could be addictive), mint chocolate brownies, and twice baked potatoes.  The recipes and party ideas are so good that I have their calendar, several cookbooks, and a software product called Cookin’ with Gooseberry Patch.  This product has several cookbooks installed that allow you to choose a recipe (as well as  enter your own) and pick out your menu for the week, then  print your grocery list.  One such cookbook is 5 Ingredients or less.  How easy is that?

If you’ve never tried Gooseberry Patch before, you’re really missing out.  The company offers products that are very affordable.  The writing style is simple and easy to follow.  Pick up Get-Togethers with Gooseberry Patch or a Very Merry Christmas with Gooseberry Patch for some wonderful beginnings to what I am sure will prove to be a growing collection.  These cookbooks would also make fantastic gifts, and won’t cost an arm and a leg.  Next time you make a Goosberry recipe, let me know how it turns out so we can tell everyone which book it came from.

Now get Cookin!

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing about the Gooseberry Patch cookbooks. I’ve seen them and browsed through them before but never bought one. I visited their site and tried one of the recipes Friday night and it was a hit! I noticed that they have some sewing and craft books that look neat too. Might just have to order a couple of their books. ; )

    Meg

Leave a Reply

