• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • Let’s Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Me

    Rockin' Party Ideas on a Realistic Budget!

One More Week for a Strawberry Stretch

Strawbeery Shortcake.  Oh my goodness!

Strawberry Shortcake. Oh my goodness!

This past week my mom, my kids and me packed the van and headed to the strawberry patch.  For $9 I picked a giant bucket of strawberries.  Talk about a cheap party food!  Here’s what I was able to squeeze out of God’s little rubies of summer.

STARberry shortcake.  Homemade and scrumptious.  The kicker about this recipe is, while it’s rich, it isn’t loaded with a bunch of foreign chemicals that our bodies weren’t made to digest.  And the strawberries were carted down the road for days in some truck,  just 20 minutes in a mini van!

But shhhh, only special people get this recipe.  And I do mean special.  I took some over to my neighbor and she returned the bowl to me and never even sat down.  That tells you something.

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 quarts of strawberries to feed 26 people
  • some sugar (about 3/4)  if you like your straberries sugared! They’re already sweet.
  • 4 cups of flour
  • 4t baking powder
  • 1t salt
  • 1 1/2sticks butter (cold not softened)
  • 1 c heavy cream you can find this near the milk at the store (it’s expensive but worth it)
  • 1 container of yoplait light yogurt (I used strawberry sunrise or something like that)
  • 1 large egg yolk

Put your strawberries in a bowl and sprinkle with sugar, put ’em in the fridge.

Heat the oven to 400 degrees.

For the shortcake:

  1. Combine your dry ingredients in a big ol’ bowl. About 1/4 c of sugar or whatever is left.
  2. Chop the cold butter in little pieces into the dry ingredients and then use two forks (I use my hands) to kind of make a crumbly mixture.
  3. Add 1 c of cream and the yogurt.  Here’s where things get sticky.
  4. You want to kind of mush the dough together but lightly, because your shortcakes will be kind of tough if you’re too tough on the dough.  That seems fair.
  5. Now, on a floured surface, roll out your dough to about a 1/2 inch thick.  I used 2″ star shaped cookie cutters to cut my shortcakes, but you could use a glass or whatever you have handy in your kitchen.  Heck, use a knife and cut it into strips or squares.
  6. Don’t skip this part! Take the egg yolk & about 1T of cream and brush the tops of your cakes.  I dusted them with some decorating sugar I had left over from another recipe.
  7. Bake about 12-15 minutes on a prepared cookie sheet. They should be a golden brown color.

For the cream part, I pour about 1/2 c cream and a few tablespoons of sugar and a drop of vanilla in a mixing bowl and beat until fluffy.  This takes a long time, that’s why I only do it 1/4-1/2 c at a time. 

Top your baked shortcakes with strawberries and cream and you have an awesome, filling dessert for your next party.  Beats the heck out of a pack of chips ahoy.  And feeds a lot more people too.  26 in this case.

Leave a Reply

